top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Fink

Day 22-24 - Commercial Break

I have to be honest. I've had a hard time writing about our travels lately because I have been more and more consumed with the state of our own country. With our democracy being threatened, injustice running rampant, our planet near combustion and corporate greed slithering into every aspect of our lives, it's hard to ignore and galavant happily around with my gelato.


We watched the Social Dilemma on Netflix last night, which opened my eyes to something I wasn't fully aware of. I didn't know that when someone searches something on Google (Ex: Climate change is...), the results or answers are different from person to person based on your interests and beliefs that the database has been collecting from your past searches and clicks. I treated Google like an encyclopedia that stated facts. My bad. That helped explain how we are being spoonfed contradicting information, hence dividing our country more.


"I am a firm believer in the people. If given the truth, they can be depended upon to meet any national crisis. The great point is to bring them the real facts, and beer." ― Abraham Lincoln


Ok, back to pretty pictures of cobblestoned streets and coastal sunsets...


 

84 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page