top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Fink

Day 14 - Laundry and Pasta

Updated: Sep 20, 2020

I used to loathe laundry day at home. Maybe because it wasn't really a laundry day, but more of a laundry week, which then rolled into the next week, making everyday haunted by the dreaded chore. Baskets of clean unfolded laundry would sit it our living room waiting for the linen gods to work their magic, but they never seemed to come. It wasn't until someone was frantically looking for their favorite shirt or was out of socks that we'd all sit down on the floor of the living room and start folding our two-week pile of now wrinkly clothes while watching our favorite show.


Here, I feel like Julie Andrews singing through the Alps or Snow White frolicking with the birds and forest creatures as I put our small pile of clothes in the washer and hang it out to dry on the line. As I walk away from our clothes flapping in the wind, I say a little prayer that they don't go flying into the sea or onto someone's plate at the restaurant below. We don't have anything to spare, for we all only have a few outfits each!



Anywhere you go, if you look up, you will see rows of someone's garments dangling from a line for all the town to see. I'd only buy the fanciest of undergarments if I lived in Europe, lol! Laundry crisping out in the sun always reminds me of spending summers at my Grandma's house and helping her hang sheets on the line.



Do you remember that restaurant I mentioned below us? We splurged by eating there last night and it was by far my favorite meal I have had on the trip so far—Kate and Clint's too. Hand-rolled pasta with pesto, pasta with braised beef, prosciutto lasagne and bruschetta with fig and the most divine, creamy cheese made us grin with content. The all-woman, badass restaurant crew is fantastic and we really enjoyed hearing more about Croatian life from our waitress. Sorry, I have no pictures to share of this delightful meal because we were too busy enjoying it to document it.



Austin would have to say kebobs have been his favorite meal so far on the trip. We ate at the same place three times in Dubrovnik because he loved it so much. Eating out is quite expensive in Croatia, so we haven't had many sit-down restaurant meals. Toiletries, transportation and accommodations are inexpensive but most restaurant options feel extravagant. Daily indulging isn't in our budget, so we usually eat breakfast (minus our daily pastry) and lunch at home and have cheap-eats out for dinner. But I guess that isn't much change from us at home either!

 

136 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page